brush with food royalty

SK and I love Maine. Throughout the last year, we visited as much as we could, entranced by clam rolls and blueberry muffins and the great big sea. So it was an unsurprising surprise that she treated me to lobster rolls for our anniversary last night, at a West Village institution run by a Kennebunkport transplant.

What was a shock was sitting near one of SK’s idols, the formidable Ruth Reichl, former editor-in-chief of Gourmet and food writer for the NY Times. As a side bonus, the chef spilled some juicy Gawker-worthy gossip after she left…I’ll never tell!

4 responses to “brush with food royalty

  1. OMG Ruth Reichl! I genuflect in your general direction.

    (Can you e-mail me the gossip? Please?)

  2. yeah, me too! RR gossip to my inbox please.

  3. Pingback: I was tagged as a lobster roll on Facebook « short sharp bursts (of flavor)

  4. In hindsight, the gossip was pretty mild

Leave a Reply

