get in my lap

This morning I sat in the chintzy Brooklyn Bagel near my house, talking on the phone. A sesame bagel sat half-uneaten, awash in gobs of bacon scallion cream cheese. I sipped loudly on a Tropicana no-pulp. Outside, snow dominated the streets… (Get to the point, Hirsch.)

The phone conversation was a life-changer. In short, I was given total editorial control of Edible Queens magazine. At a rate of pay my teacher says is quite fair, I will now:

-hire freelance writers and photographers
-assign stories
-edit all features
-choose all photos

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m getting the bends here.

13 responses to “get in my lap

  1. holy crap dude, that’s amazing! congrats!

  2. thanks Lady S.

  3. awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwesssssssome!!!

  4. Congratulations! I never figured your genius would be recognized during your own lifetime!

  5. Thanks April and Charlie.

    P.S. you guys should be friends.

  6. Whoo hoo! That’s great! Mazel Tov!

  7. Oh, my. I am really, really happy for you. This is wonderful!

    I don’t know about you, but for me, it always feels crayzee when things that I aspire to for a long time actually work out. Like, “I never thought it would actually happen for me. For other people, yes, but not for me.” But then I have a rather assy worldview.

    Congratulations, friend.

  8. There’s an element of “now what?”

  9. Yes. There’s got to be something to grumble discontentedly about. Getting what I want is never the solution to anything.

  10. Congratulations, Sir! “Now what?” is a good question indeed. Nonetheless, both people in this household are very happy for you.

  11. So happy for you, J.!

  12. congratulations!

  13. holy crap Jesse!!!!!!! Yippee!!!

Leave a Reply

