gender in a bottle

Old Steve (Greek landlord) handed me my mail today, drawing my attention to a lumpy, hand-scrawled envelope with no return address and a Massachusetts postmark. “I’m not sure if it’s okay.”

No anthrax inside, it was simply a photocopy of the article, “Why Are There No Woman Chefs?” without a note or any explanation. It’s a great article about gender bias in the food world, but I feel mildly stung. The anonymity of the sender seems to imply an obtuse critique towards me. Or perhaps I am defensive because I have fears that my rapid success at Edible Queens is somehow gender-based.

Either way, it’s a good read. Check it out here.

4 responses to “gender in a bottle

  1. Did I forget to put the anthrax in? Shoot, this move has been so disorienting! Seriously I was just sharing this cool magazine with you, did not think of the repercussions of unmarked envelopes and no info. uh. my bad.

  2. That’s a shame, I was hungover and spoiling for a fight…

    Thanks for the article, do you subscribe to that chi-chi mag?

  3. The Nochlin article is a classic. I only read two food blogs regularly (meaning I read every post) and they are both women who have been very successful and have gotten book deals from the blogs. So. Some ladies are working it.

  4. oh shug, did you not see my last comment? you have charm and pure determination as reasons for your current situation, NOT because you have a penis.

Leave a Reply

