in good company

From Frank Bruni’s memoir, Born Round:

As the lunch ended, the chef appeared at my table to ask me, in a visibly nervous fashion, how I liked the potato-crusted cod, and if I thought the mustard-flavored ice cream in the gazpacho was a success. Inside my head I responded: You’re going by me? Not so long ago I was sitting on a stained futon at two in the morning watching Law & Order reruns with a large pizza and a box of chicken wings on my lap.

Recent e-mail from my old roommate Joanna:

Can we consider 2007-summer Jesse, for an even greater and thus more impressive leap between past and present? Dude, talk about reformation…. the guy I knew subsisted on F-16s from Wings Over, washed down with Old Thompson. Average 5 days a week. The sixth and seventh day were typically a meal from the corporate cantine brought home in styrofoam, balanced nicely with a Pacifico or two.

6 responses to “in good company

  1. life is beautiful, isn’t it?

  2. hee …

  3. As the lunch ended, the chef appeared at my table to ask me, in a visibly nervous fashion, how I liked the potato-crusted cod, and if I thought the mustard-flavored ice cream in the gazpacho was a success. Inside my head I responded: You’re going by me? Not so long ago I was sitting on a stained futon at two in the morning watching Law & Order reruns with a large pizza and a box of chicken wings on my lap.
    +1

  4. don’t you still do that Pacifico?

  5. Could Born Round have been any more amazing? I just picked it up and plowed through it. Loved every word. Though career-wise I see the resemblance between you and FB, I’m failing to see the physical connection. Perhaps you’re more of a Biff type of guy.

  6. It’s not physical Stacy, just our career and lowbrow tastes.

Leave a Reply

