switch hitter

I’ve decided to change a post about smoking pot into a post about oversharing.

Every step of the way with this blog, I’ve been unsure where the line is. I wanted to show the reality of my new weird life as a food journalist but sometimes this pushed me into dangerous realms. Like, is it kosher to talk about the crappy writing people submit, if I don’t identify them in an obvious way? Can I criticize aspects of how the Edible mags are run, without seeming ungrateful to work for them?

I’d rather avoid such quandaries, so with my transition to the West Coast, I plan to write more about:

-Meals cooked at home, with recipes and photos

-Freelancing in a new city

NYC is like this, SF is like that

-First-person coverage of weird food events

-Photo-only posts

Also, less self-promotion on Facebook. I hope you’ll stick with me.

Crab and swiss melt, Becky's Diner, Portland, Maine

5 responses to “switch hitter

  1. Also, less self-promotion on Facebook.

    There’s nothing wrong with Facebook self-promotion! (Is there?)

  2. yummy sandwich. I think these are good ideas. I will follow your exploits with interests.

  3. More, not less, self promotion please. xox cuz.

  4. ok how is this supposedto mean?

  5. Awww, come on. There’s NOTHING wrong with self-promotion on Facebook. The Darryl Strawberry post was pretty damn good. How did I get there?

    Facebook.

Leave a Reply

