Know when to walk away, know when to run

To be clear, I was totally obnoxious to Strawberry’s PR agent. I was uppity and arrogant, like a brash greenhorn with something to prove. It was semi-calculated, because I didn’t think I’d be taken seriously without puffing out my chest. EQ magazine has only been around for a year, and except for locals and followers of the Edible family, many people haven’t heard of it. I thought my Piven/guy-with-a-bluetooth attitude was just what the doctor ordered.

It seemed to be working for awhile, until I got mad and overplayed my hand. I was legitimately irritated that I was getting blown off, but easy cowboy; I’ve only been doing this for a year. Not to mention Darryl S. is a bona fide famous person. At the end of the day, I ended up with bumpkiss.

I need to remember that I originally thought this story was a bad idea, until my publisher got amped about it. I quickly transformed into a starstruck groupie, like I had won My Dinner With Darryl at a charity auction. And now, I am back to square one.

Except, square one ain’t so bad. I am still the deputy editor of a terrific food magazine. We just published our fall issue and I think it’s our best one yet. I am working on four different stories for EQ, as well as one for the Wall Street Journal (!) And the Voice is publishing my favorite meals all week.

I feel like I’m singing I Will Survive to Darryl Strawberry.

2 responses to “Know when to walk away, know when to run

  1. thoughtful recap of the Strawberry Incident.

  2. i love this bluetooth dude

Leave a Reply

