every meal counts 4

This is Robert Sietsema, food writer for the Village Voice. I saw him in a panel discussion Monday. He wore a disguise so he wouldn’t get recognized in restaurants he’s reviewing.

During the Q&A, one girl said, “I’m from California and am looking for any Mexican food recommendations in New York.” It was totally off-topic for the panel subject (DIY Food Artisans) but God bless her for asking. I am always on the hunt for Mexican suggestions, especially from a pro.

Mr. Sietsema suggested a tiny takeout place called Dos Toros, which was created by two dudes from the Bay Area. It also happened to be walkable from the panel discussion! I decided to follow my stomach and skip the other two panels of the day.

My carnitas burrito, with cheese, rice, beans, guacamole and sour cream was just fine, nothing to complain about. Or write home about. Conclusion- people in this city are so starved for good Mexican food that even something passable seems exemplary. (I’ve had better burritos in Boston!)

4 responses to “every meal counts 4

  1. Right now I’m really into this little dive on Broadway here in Astoria, just off 34th St. They really won my heart over with simple Mexican Coke, but their tamales and tacos are just swell.

  2. My local fave is El Athens Grill on 30 Ave. but I’m mostly a torta man. The tinga quesadilla at Guacamole is great too.

  3. Tacos Nuevo Mexico in Park Slope is great. The tacos carnitas are fab. http://www.yelp.com/biz/tacos-nuevo-mexico-brooklyn-2

  4. I’m a fan of the tacos at Tacos Matamoros in Sunset Park (where the Mexican restaurants are owned by Mexicans!), especially their chorizo and carne asada.

    Their guacamole passes the test, too, but for the best in the city come to my kitchen.

Leave a Reply

